Miss Advised-Live

The Bravo Bitch with Amy Laurent
I was invited to the Miss Advised viewing party a few weeks ago by Amy Laurent, who, since I initially interviewed her, has become a dear friend. Other Bravo related events I attended until this point were not by invite. I elected to go to book signings, and bought tickets to charity dinners, so to be on the guest list was a welcome change. I had a preconceived notion in my head of what a viewing party would be. I imagined a giant screen that would air the show prior to it’s 10pm Bravo slot, since the girls all had to leave by then to appear with Andy Cohen on Watch What Happens Live. I knew before hand that Andy would not be in attendance, which I was relieved to hear, as I’m still not sure what the King of Reality Television thinks of me. It was pressure enough to know that I’d finally be meeting the Miss Advised girls in person, plus Bachelor alum Lorenzo Borghese and taking pictures for the blog. If you haven’t figured it out yet, I hate being in pictures. I have no clue how to pose and always end up making my figure and face look fuller than, I hope, they actually are.
 
I was invited with a plus one and decided that my intern Victoria should attend. She helps me a lot and, like myself currently, doesn’t get financial compensation from this “business” so exclusive events are the best thing I can offer. Besides, Mr. Bitch is not the socialite I am, so he was more than happy to let Vic be his stand in. We met up a few doors down from the party venue, a lounge in NYC’s Flat Iron District, for a quick dinner to prep our stomachs for the alcohol we’d potentially consume. After our overpriced bar food we fixed our makeup and headed to The Scarlet Lounge where we waited on a small line. We saw Amy arrive with Lorenzo and another woman, who happens to be Amy’s close friend and stylist. Another woman on line started chatting with us and she does Amy’s makeup. Being that Amy is the only cast member who resides primarily in NY it was fitting that the majority of the guests were connected to her in some way.
 
When we were let in we walked through a long narrow chandeliered hallway painted in a baroque black and white motif, like something out of Alice in Wonderland. The main bar was less perplexing to the eye. If you haven’t been to a NYC lounge the formula seems to be leather benches, plush sofas, chandeliers (again)l, and lots of velvet hanging along the walls. Behind the bar were a couple of TVs, but no large movie screen like the one I expected. Of course Bravo was playing, but the DJs kept the music going the whole party so unless you wanted to just view, you couldn’t really watch anything. Trays of tiny cupcakes adorned the tables, none of which I ate (reference to the camera hating me again!)
 
I went up to Amy, who welcomed me with a warm and excited hug. It was nice to be face to face after the plethora of conversations we had been having for the last couple of months. Amy is petite and very thin. She was wearing a fitted purple (which seems to be her signature color) dress and lovely long earrings. Julia arrived shortly after in a pink crinoline A-line, to which she topped off with a tiara a bit later on. Emily was dazzling in blue with her hair slicked back. She could easily be one of the tiniest women I have ever met, which she makes up for with a big charismatic personality. All three women looked fantastic. I got ample time talking to each one and they definitely made this Bitch feel like VIP!
 
The rest of the evening I spent mostly talking to Lorenzo, who seemed rather impressed, and horrified that I could have tweeted 13,000 times in two and a half months. I think it took him a while to realize that I’m not some weird stalker who sits behind a computer trying to get responses from reality tv personalities. Hopefully he peruses the blog today to see I’m a serious self made journalist and not a freak. (and hopefully he will submit to a blog interview as well). All in all it was a fun evening, but I’m paying the price today. All I had was 2 glasses of wine, but I’m not in my 20s anymore and when all was said and done it was nice to get home, take those killer (in more ways than one) shoes off, babywipe some of my makeup off, chug some water, and get my already hungover ass into bed. I needed some sleep, because after those pics, I was NOT going to miss my morning workout!
2 thoughts on “Miss Advised-Live

  1. "When we were let in we walked through a long narrow chandeliered hallway painted in a baroque black and white motif, like something out of Alice in Wonderland". That's EXACTLY what I was thinking! It's my favorite movie of all time though, so I may try to compare its scenes to anything in life. :/

Leave a Reply

