Don’t Mess with Kim D!

Although Kim DePaola (Kim D) has been painted as the villain on the just wrapped season of Real Housewives of New Jersey, this tough as nails business owner who raised her son on her own also has a soft side, just don’t cross it. Here she is very forthcoming about who and what she loves…and who she doesn’t!

TBB: That was quite a season of RHONJ! What did you think of it?

KD: I think it’s old news. Enough is enough with Teresa (Giudice) and Joe (Gorga) fighting and the family feuds. There’s no real girl talk, no one is going to nice places for lunches or dinner like they used to, no fun like the other shows. I felt it was very dark, so dark that I even turned it off a few times. I think they need some fresh blood to lighten things up, no more of this four against one with Teresa.

TBB: You initially were on the show a lot less this season only to return to steal it at the end! What will your role be in the future? Any chance you’ll be a full time cast member?
KD: The reason why I’m on and off is because I have a personal life to protect. I have a significant other who does not like me to be on the show and we were back and forth. The girls ask me to be on all the time, I just decline. This year if they ask me to sign a contract I will, but I will not film just to film. That is something I would have to negotiate. I am the only person still talking to three of the five women so if they ask me I will do it

TBB: I recently had the pleasure of attending your latest fashion show. It was a great evening and it was at the Brownstone. This surprised a lot of my readers. Are you speaking with Caroline (Manzo) and Jacqueline (Laurita) currently?

KD: I am absolutely speaking with them, but have I seen them? No. Were they a little upset that I stuck by Teresa? Yes, but I told the truth, Teresa did not know anything more than they did. I have spoken to Jacqueline since we filmed the reunion and we still text and they are supposed to be coming into the store, so we are friendly.
 
TBB:You mentioned on the reunion that Melissa Gorga’s promotion of another store started your feud. Did you ever approach her about it?
KD: Numerous, numerous, numerous times I had spoken to her and Jacqueline spoke to her as well. There was no stopping her, she would do what she wanted to do. It had nothing to do with her promoting a store, anyone can promote anything they want, but there’s a history with this store and the owner. Out of every store in the whole world why would they promote that one?

BB: What is your status with Melissa and Teresa now?

KD: Im very, very, very close with Teresa. In fact I just did her closets for her, we’re very close. Melissa not so much, we don’t even like each other even a little bit.
TBB: My readers would like to know if you have any regrets about inviting Angelo to your show. Knowing then what you know now would you have done things differently?
KD: No I do not have any regrets. I did not invite Angelo to the fashion show. I knew he would be at the salon,but he bought a ticket at the salon and came to the fashion show, therefore he was a welcome guest. What did he do at the fashion show, that was so wrong? He said hello to Melissa, and he did know her, whether she was a bartender or a dancer she worked for him.

TBB: Joe Gorga made some pretty harsh accusations at your fashion show. We all saw his apology. Anything you want to say about that?

KD: Those things that he said to me are absolutely ridiculous! I wouldn’t dignify any of it with an answer. He apologized and I’ll leave it at that. Everyone who knows me knows the kind of mother, friend, daughter and business owner I am. What he said was insanity.

TBB: We’ve met and have spoken a few times, but the fans don’t really see the everyday Kim. Can you tell us a little about your life outside of Housewives?

KD: Today was a regular day. I went to my store without a stitch of makeup, I was in a hoodie and leggings, I hadn’t even planned on working. When I walked in two women were there who had come from Long Island (NY) to see Posche. I took a picture with them in my hoodie. People are always coming in and asking for pictures and I love to do that for them! I have sold clothes my whole life since I was 15 and I support myself totally, my son is 23 and lost his father at 11, I have always worked and paid my own bills.  Other things people may not know is that I have six dogs, I have tons of friends that I go out with all the time, and I have two assistants who are like daughters to me. I love to shop and I read every fashion magazine, I mean it, every one.

TBB: I have a lot of respect and admiration for small business owners. What is the story of Posche Boutique?

KD: I’ve always been in the business like I said, I started selling clothes at 15. When my son was homeschooled for 3 years in high school I sold clothes from my home. After he graduated I walked passed a store that was going out of business. It was a little pocketbook store, like flea market type stuff. I thought this would be a great space. My boyfriend then was in construction and he made it up really nice. I named it after Victoria Beckham because I love her style. We wanted an interesting spelling so we chose Posche, like Porsche, but without the R.

TBB: Has RHONJ  had an impact on your business?

KD: Oh yes. People from all over the country, even Canada come to the store, especially Michigan, Florida, California, and Massachusetts. We have some major fans of the store and they don’t stay fans they become friends. I answer them on Facebook and stay in touch with all of them.

 

TBB: Thank you for talking with me. Is there anything else you would like people to know?
KD: I’m extremely happy and I love my life! The little things that are said on Twitter make me laugh, even when people are nasty. One person tweeted me the Bad Boys song from Cops and I turned it around on her and now she tweets me nice things. I get a kick out of the stuff that is said. My whole life no one gets to me, no one can shake me, and that gets to certain people.
11 thoughts on “Don’t Mess with Kim D!

  1. Kim D is one of the greatest friend you can have in your life. She is always there for you no matter what she is doing. I've know her for many years she has always been a good, honest, down to earth person.The show did not change her in anyway. I can challenge anyone who has anything negative to say about her. She is first a mother and a business women always and I am very lucky to have her in my life, as I know other people think the same. Love Always, Carol Petrak ❤

  2. Great Interview. You covered everything I was curious about. I really like Kim D. She is one of the few to set foot on any of the housewives shows that hasn't been afraid to be herself. I trust people are being real when they let it all hang out, more than I do those who act like they're perfect. If there was a such thing as perfect, I probably wouldn't like it. 🙂

  3. Great interview. Am I alone in wondering why she referred to her current partner as "significant other" and later in the interview referred to a past "boyfriend"? Has she perhaps switched teams?(not that it matters …I would just never refer to my bf as my s.o.)

  4. Pingback: Kim D Opens Posche 2 | TBB Reality

  5. Pingback: Jennifer Dalton – New Jersey’s New Girl | TBB Reality

  6. Pingback: Reality Roundup | TBB Reality

  7. Pingback: Bethenny Back in Bergen County | TBB Reality

Leave a Reply

