Mary Amons RHODC by Cinderella’s Glass Closet

Mary AmonsCinderella’s Glass Closet (CGC) has relaunched as Cinderella’s Glass PR (http://cinderellasglasspr.com/). We’re excited to be featuring one of her celebrity interviews on TBBReality. As many of you know, CGC was a premiere blog, producing 5 or more celebrity interviews weekly last year. That being said, she’s starting over with fresh content, and new marketing ideas.  As per Lindsey of CGC, “At the end of the day we want to get back to our roots, continue to network, pursue friendships, and this all results in bringing you great interviews.”


By Lindsey (Cinderella’s Glass Closet)

For our latest interview we are thrilled to feature one of our favorite Housewives, Mary Amons of The Real Housewives of DC. We want to note something that most people do not know. A couple of years ago a celebrity charity event was in the works for our cause: Fibromyalgia awareness. Many celebrities agreed to participate, and Mary was the first one to check her schedule to see if she could come host the event in New York. Unfortunately, Lindsey (the driving force behind CGC) who is a Fibro sufferer, had a deterioration in her health and the event did not happen. However, we want to give credit to Mary Amons for not only doing this interview, but for her big heart.
Read on to learn about Mary’s other causes, her family, and get a sneak peek in to something that everyone is buzzing about- her locked closet.
 
CGC: When you look back on the Real Housewives of DC why do you think the show was discontinued?
 
MA: We were never given a clear answer as to why exactly Andy Cohen didn’t bring us back. The White House incident seems to be the most obvious reason. This decision was a bit strange for all of us involved in the show as cast and production, given the fact that our show had the highest rated freshman season in the history of the franchise. I believe that the Salahis became too much of a liability for the image of the network. Their antics were the primary focus of our show, but going forward without them would have been difficult (I think). There have been many people that have expressed a strong desire to have us back. They have reached out to both Andy, and the network. As much fun as it would be to be back working with Lynda, Cat and Stacie, I am moving on and pursuing some other opportunities to be back on TV as a host, and possibly to have my own show. 2013 is going to be an exciting year for my career!
 
CGC: I must say that as my daughter grows I often think about the special lock that you have on your closet (as seen on The Real Housewives of DC). Is the lock still in place ? And what do you have hiding in that closet that we ALL might love?

MA: We sold our beautiful house last February and the lock came with me. It had to, as my finger was the only one that could gain access to the closet when it was closed! My closet has always been my sanctuary. As a busy mother of 5 kids, there aren’t many places in our home where I can find solitude. When we remodeled some of our home, I created a space that not only provided me with a beautiful place to house my things, but also a peaceful room to be by myself. Being [alone] is something that we all need to do on a regular basis, in order to stay centered, and at peace with yourself. I have a few very favorite things housed in my closet, one being my Labels for Love Cross, exclusively by Christofle (http://bit.ly/tZhi3J). This is something that I treasure.  I received many compliments on it when I was on TV, so the company graciously relaunched it in the name of the my charitable foundation, Labels for Love (www.labelsforlove.org) I also recently launched my voice-over career, so I have my home studio now set up in my closet too! It truly is my special place to work, pray, play, think, and take care of myself!

 
CGC: In speaking with you, we know that charity work is very important to you. Please tell us about the charities that you are working on currently.
 
MA: In 2006, I founded Labels for Love, a 501c3 organization to raise funds and awareness for women’s and children’s causes. I have a strong desire to create interesting fashion and art-inspired events to celebrate, and support worthy causes. I grew up in a family that is very service-oriented. My father, Robert Schmidt, started a foundation in 1970 in honor of Coach Vince Lombardi that raised funds for the Lombardi Cancer Research Center at Georgetown University. This was our family project. We held a golf and tennis event every summer that established a legacy of giving back, teamwork and serving the community. I realize the gift that this is to me, and my siblings, and I have a desire to pass this important legacy on to my own children. Labels for Love has supported many worthy causes locally here in DC, as well as Fran Drescher‘s organization, Cancer Schmancer. Currently, the focus of my fundraising efforts is Girl Power 2 Cure, an amazing organization dedicated to raising awareness and funds for treatments, and a cure for Rett Syndrome. Rett Syndrome is a devastating neurological disorder that (almost) exclusively affects girls. I’m so excited to use this exposure in the entertainment business to support and make an impact on those women’s and children’s organizations in need of support. (www.girlpower2cure.org) In addition, I do hope to produce another fashion show in DC this year to support the amazing work of Girl Power 2 Cure! Next, I am the National Spokesperson for Tix4Cause, a company with a big idea and a big heart. Tix4cause is a ticket exchange platform that links purchasers to over 7 millions tickets they want and, with each purchase, up to 100% of the proceeds goes to a deserving cause (www.tix4cause.com).  It’s in my heart to support worthy causes that really make a difference in the lives of others. We have so much to be grateful for and to give back is one of life’s biggest blessings.
 
CGC: We understand that you receive a lot of invitations to industry parties. How often do you walk the red carpet? What type of event inspires you to attend?
 
MA: I do get invited to many social events in DC. In DC there is an event every night of the week that is both fun, and most commonly supports a worthy cause. I do make sure to keep myself in balance in how I spend my time, especially if it means that it takes time away from my family in the evening. I think it is important to provide a nice family dinner most nights, so I have become very selective about being out too often. I have a few good friends who produce some fun events throughout the year that support great causes, so I’ll usually attend those if I am in town.
 
CGC: Will we ever see you on another reality TV show? If so what would that look like?
 
MA: Some exciting opportunities are definitely in the works for me to be back on TV! I’m thrilled to say that I have had some interest in having me on a few different shows playing the role I know, and love best (as a mom)! As the oldest sibling of 7 and mother to my own 5 children, I have had much experience in raising children. I would love to have an opportunity to share my wisdom, the mistakes that I have made, and techniques that work and don’t work. Overall, I would like to help parents and kids overcome the struggles that raising a family can bring. I have a book, actually a few books in the works that I am hoping to release this year as well. A busy, exciting time for me, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to see how things develop in 2013 as I continue in my efforts to share of myself, and create some goodness for others!
 
I’d like to thank Mary Amons of The Real Housewives of DC for this interview. The fans adore you Mary, and can not wait to see what happens next for you. If you would like to learn more about Mary Amons you may reach out to her on Twitter @MaryAmons. She loves engaging with her fans and she takes time out of her busy schedule to reach back.
Thanks again TBBreality for letting Cinderellas Glass Closet guest interview on your site. Be sure to check out our new site http://cinderellasglasspr.com/ Thank you Tara and Team TBB for giving us a temporary home while we work on our new domain! There are big new interviews in the works from Glass Closet. Thanks for reading, and visit us at our new website soon!
5 thoughts on “Mary Amons RHODC by Cinderella’s Glass Closet

  1. Pingback: INTERVIEW: MARY AMONS OF THE REAL HOUSEWIVES OF DC « CINDERELLA'S GLASS PR

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your
    theme? Great work!

    • Thank you. Drew, Brent, and I all worked together with WordPress tools to create the design. Our goal was to create something very easy for our readers to navigate.

Leave a Reply

