Briella Calafiore Goes From Glam to Grimm in an Original Play By Brandon Monokian

Briella Calafiore, Brandon Monokian, and Jessica Romano during their production of the Vagina Monologues.

Briella Calafiore, Brandon Monokian, and Jessica Romano during their production of the Vagina Monologues.

There’s been a lot of reality stars crossing into theater lately. Back in November we saw My Big Gay Italian Wedding with Mobwives’ Ramona Rizzo and Karen Gravano making cameos, the first in a huge group of reality stars who have appeared in the play since. Now Glam Fairy’s Briella Calafiore, one of MBIW former guests,is starring in the second run of playwright Brandon Monokian’s Grimm Women, a modern day twist on the classic Grimm fairy tales we’ve all grown up with. The show, which previously ran in a NY Off Off Broadway production, now moves to the Adrienne Theater in Philly. The new run, which features new characters and a longer script, starts on April 22nd and runs through May 5th. We interviewed Monokian and Calafiore about the play as well as how one goes from the drama of reality television, to the art of creating drama on a live stage.

TBB: Grimm women takes the classic fairy tale heroines and brings them into modern times. What inspired you to write this play?

BM: I had just graduated from college a few years ago and I was lucky to be doing shows with Suzzanne Douglas and Alice Playten who I had grown up watching on TV. Being around their amazing energy and watching them work got me inspired to be creative so I started doing a lot of writing. At the same time I was working with them I was working for the Princeton Public Library where we were doing plays that had been adapted from literature and I was directing them. I wanted to write my own so I chose the Brother’s Grimm fairy tales. I’m so interested in cliches, I think they’re so prevalent in our modern culture and lot come from these fairy tales. I thought we could adapt them. They are so much darker in their original form. They get “Disney-fied” over the years. I knew we could go back to their roots, bring the characters into modern times and create something really outrageous!

TBB: Briella, tell us about your role in Grimm Women…

 BC: I play the modern day version of Red Riding Hood. She is a pot smoking bad ass. She gets into a lot of trouble but she has a really big heart. She’s very dramatic but is hysterical, similar to me in some ways but so different in others.

TBB: Brandon you cast Briella after she was in your production of the Vagina Monologues. How did you initially meet?

 BC: (Glam Fairy cast mate) Jessica Romano went to Montclaire State University with Brandon where they did a lot of theater things together. Last year I told Jessica that I wanted to do a play. I said “I think it would be fun to be on stage and do something different,” so she introduced me to Brandon. We did the Vagina Monologues after I heard what it was about and how Brandon’s Montclaire State production was to benefit domestically abused women. It was such a cool opportunity.

BM: I have been friends with Jessica for years and she saw a production of the Vagina Monologues that I directed. I said, “You should do it next year.” When she did she brought Briella and we hit it off. I approached them both to work on (Grimm Women)! Jessica does the makeup and co-designed all the looks of the actors. Jessica actually did the makeup for the very first thing I directed in college so we go way back.

TBB: Brandon, you’ve done some acting yourself. Do you prefer to be on the stage or behind it?

Brandon with Jessica Romano

Brandon with Jessica Romano

 BM: It’s really 2 different kinds of things. I like to work on pieces I have a lot of control over. I like original work so a lot of the acting I have done has been off the wall, not huge big things. I really love both behind the scenes as well as being on stage.

TBB: What about you Briella, do you find it more challenging taping a reality show or being on stage in a live performance?

BC: I would definitely say being on stage in a live performance because I’m new at it. Stage is always going to be more challenging than TV, because TV you can edit. On stage it’s something different. You have one shot and all eyes are on you.

TBB: Had you previously done any stage acting?

BC: When I was younger I did theater camps, but in high school I focused more on hair and cosmetology. I think its safe to say I’m back into it.
I was in My Big Gay Italian Wedding a couple of weeks ago.

TBB: Can we expect to see more acting from you in the future?

 BC: Yes for sure. I’m trying to pull myself out of the reality tv role and dive into more authentic self expressive areas. I just read a play called Tattoo Girl. Brandon did it before and we are working on doing another production of it. I plan on working with Brandon a really long time.

TBB: Brandon, you previously ran Grimm Women in NY and now you’re moving on to Philly. Have any changes been made for the new run?

 BM: We have three new cast members. One part that was previously played by a woman is now played by a man. The show is also a little bit longer now, it was pretty short in its first run.

TBB: Are you planning to take the show to any other cities?

BM: I would love to go back to New York. I’m talking about doing it in New Jersey this summer, and I would love to take it to Boston, just because I selfishly want to hang out there!

TBB: Briella do you plan on staying with Grimm Women in other cities?

 BC: I absolutely plan on staying with (the show) for as long as I can and as long as I’m capable. The only thing that would stop me would be if I do more television work. Like if Glam Fairy gets picked up for a third season.

TBB: Have heard anything regarding that yet?

BC: Not yet, no.

TBB: Do you think there will ever come a point where you will have to choose one world over the other?

BC: I think I would have to leave reality TV. I would definitely have to be done to be taken seriously in the theater world. I always see myself doing TV and theater. My dream is to have my own sitcom on television. I always think I’m going to be dabbling in theater on the side!

TBB: Are you currently taking acting lessons?

 BC: I’m taking private lessons with Brandon one on one. Classes are something I’m looking into.

TBB: Thank you both for talking with me. Is there anything you want to add?

BC: I’m working on a book of writings. It’s going to be called Kiss the Crazy. It’s only in the beginning stages. It’s a collection of poems and short stories about embracing your inner crazy. There are about 50 writings altogether.

BM: Working with Briella and Jessica has just been great. They’ve really brought (Grimm Women) to life!

For more about Grimm Women and to purchase tickets visit www.grimmwomen.com

**DON’T FORGET ABOUT OUR MARCH MOM MADNESS GIVEAWAY!***

One thought on “Briella Calafiore Goes From Glam to Grimm in an Original Play By Brandon Monokian

  1. I saw Briella in the NYC run of Grimm Women in December and she, like the rest of the cast, played their roles perfectly. In her role of Red, Briella definitely gets to show her range of acting skills and does so wonderfully under the direction of Brandon. What is also really impressive about Grimm Women is how the characters have intertwining, and sometimes extended, monologues that really stretch their ability to remember a lot of text and deliver it with the right emotion. I am already planning to go see the show in Philadelphia and can’t wait to see the changes.

Leave a Reply

