Dinner and Drinks: Skinny Girl Style

imageBy Jaime Page

With summer fast approaching, New Year’s resolutions to get into shape have been kicked into high gear.  When I need some healthy weight loss guidance, I turn to my copy of Bethenny Frankel’s Naturally Thin.  Frankel, a natural food chef and former Real Housewives of New York star, applies a common sense approach to her daily eating habits and diet tips.  Her books and healthy living style became a springboard to create and promote her line of low calorie bottled cocktails, aptly titled Skinny Girl Cocktails.

 The original drink from the Skinny Girl line, the Skinny Girl Margarita, was released a few years back and became a phenomenal success.  I usually have a bottle chilling in my house and love the light, fresh flavor.  I have always been a margarita fan, but trying the Skinny Girl honestly made a world of difference to me.  Since trying Skinny Girl Margarita, I find I can no longer drink the sugar-laden swill that you get at most restaurants or the other pre-bottled products you can buy at the liquor store.

Lately, I’ve been using the drink as a marinade.  While there are tons of recipes using the Skinny Girl Margarita as a marinade, this is the particular recipe I whipped up in my kitchen.  My advice: Don’t be afraid to try it.  I was skeptical how the drink would affect my chicken, but in all honesty, in was fabulous.  The flavor was very mellow, giving the chicken a hint of lime and a little kick.

Skinny Girl Style Chicken With Margarita Marinade, Peppers and Shallotsimage

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:

 

2 6 OZ Chicken Cutlets, Fat Removed

1 Green Pepper (Cut Into Strips)

1 Red Pepper (Cut Into Strips)

½ Cup Skinny Girl Margarita

1 Small Shallot, Finely Diced

1 Cup Brown Rice

2-3 TBSP Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Directions:

In a Ziploc bag, add liberally salt and peppered chicken cutlets.  Add Skinny Girl Margarita to the chicken, zip and refrigerate for at least two hours.  Heat the olive oil and add diced shallot and peppers.  Cook until vegetables are tender.  In a separate grill pan or on the grill, cook drained chicken cutlets until well done and slightly blackened.  When chicken is fully cooked, serve over peppers and brown rice.

We have 2 contest happening right now!!! 

Editor’s Note: Are you a “vege-aquarian” (like me) or vegetarian? Try the marinade with fish or grilled veggies!

Leave a Reply

