One Year in the Biz: Time to Quit Bitchin’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dear Readers,

One year ago I had this quirky idea to start blogging about going to local reality star appearances in an attempt to get a media intership. I was hot off of reading A Place Of Yes by Bethenny Frankel and ready to claim the career of my dreams. This, in my mind, was the booby prize after a failed attempt to move South and be a stay at home mom. The rationale was “Well, if I have to work, it best be something I enjoy.” Fast forward 365 days and nothing, I mean NOTHING, is what I thought it would be.

My original site, thebravobitch.com , quickly became a real true reality television website. The modest product signing idea, with the aid of Twitter, morphed into full fledged reality star interviews, first via email, then by phone, and eventually in person.  Waiting in line to have a book signed would give way to sitting at tables for ticketed events, to, now, invitations complete with press passes and red carpet access. My life became a double one. I’d spend my days as I always had, working, cleaning, mothering to have to change into dresses and heels to go to evening events from which I would come home late. Often I’d get up at 6am the following day to do it all over again. Exhausting, yes, but the sheer energy and bliss that comes from living the life that excites me has been fuel enough to combat the lost sleep.

My goal for an internship also changed. Before I knew what was happening I was hiring my own interns. My interns turned to writers and I now keep a staff of 5 incredibly talented people. We are like one little family. Our group texts alone could be a reality show. They’ve become my core group of friends. Add on to that the friends I’ve made in the business and 4,000 fantastic tweeters and I would say my cup runneth over.

It has not always been easy. I’ve been criticized, I’ve been harrassed (you would not even believe how serious it got at one point), and I’ve been full of doubt. However, everytime I felt like giving up something would happen that told me it was not the right time. It could be as simple as an encouraging tweet, to as huge as the knowledge that someone very influential was watching me.

So what have I learned in a year? I have learned that with hard work, dedication, and the willingness to put myself out there I can move mountains. If I can impart any wisdom to you all it would be don’t be afraid to ASK for things. You would be surprised how often people say “Yes.” I also learned that reality stars work their asses off to stay relevant. These people are on the move and getting their names out there everyday. They are some of the most driven and dedicated folks I have ever met. I learned not to take myself too seriously. I learned that  I can  put myself out there and if somebody doesn’t like me or what I have to say I will be OK. I learned that things often don’t go the way we want them to, because sometimes what we think we want isn’t what’s right for us at all. I thought I wanted to not work outside of being a mom, reality is, working at something I love to do is the best thing for me.

People ask me, “What is your  long term plan?” Where am I headed? The honest answer is I really don’t know. I couldn’t have predicted I would be here typing this today, so I certainly can’t predict what’s going to happen next year, next month, or even tomorrow. Recently I had the chance to interview for what could be my dream job. If this works out, I honestly could not write a better ending (and new beginning) to my story. But, if it doesn’t, I won’t be sad, because I now know that a power greater than I am can see that it was only what I thought I want, and some other magical surprise will be waiting around the corner. I hope you will all continue to follow me and hold my hand so that we can turn that corner together.

Regards and Hugs,

TBB

PS: I also learned that nobody thinks I’m a bitch, so from here on in you can find me @TheBravoBlonde ! (But, I’ll always keep my other name in my back pocket …just in case ;))

One thought on “One Year in the Biz: Time to Quit Bitchin’

  1. Congradulations! I haven’t been with you the entire year but have watched your success. I only hope the best for you. I have also watched your haters and thought how awful their lives must be. There is one thing that separates you from many. You can write and its funny. Keep it up

Leave a Reply

