When It Comes to Housewife Hair, Julius Michael is at the Head of the Class

imageNestled in a classy New York City suburb, the Julius Michael Salon in Scarsdale sees enough upscale clientele. When he leaves his shop, however, salon owner Julius Michael is jet-setting to (and with) some of the most sought after women in America. Adored for his fantastic custom locks, and locked lips, he is responsible for the looks of many of Bravo’s Real Housewives, especially in NJ and OC. I first met Michael at an event with Tamra Barney in February, and, naturally, I needed to know more…

TBB: Hello Julius. Give us a little history on how your services became so popular with the Housewives.

JM: (Laughs) I feel the need to laugh. I became so popular so fast because I really bring out (the Housewives’) beauty. I do their hair to transform them without making it look like they are trying too hard.

TBB: I know Kathy Wakile, Melissa Gorga, and Tamra Barney are your clients. Who else do you work with?

JM: I also work with Heather Dubrow , Gretchen Rossi and the newest Housewife Lydia McLaughlin.

TBB: There are so many hairstylists, but these women are using you from across the country even. What is it that makes your services so sought after?

JM: I think it’s because I don’t gossip and they know that. They trust that whatever is said stays between me and whoever is in the room. I’m very professional and there to work. I don’t get involved in what happens on their shows. They also all love my hair extensions and wear them. I really do make the best hair extensions.

TBB: You recently posted a little Housewives promo video you made. Are you also a fan of the shows? Do you have a favorite?

JM: I don’t have a favorite. I made that video because I was sitting in on one of Kathy’s interviews and was playing with my phone. I take a lot of videos and pics during these things so my clients can see what they look like. My phone is loaded with thousands and thousands of videos.

TBB: Will we see you on Real Housewives of Orange County or Real Housewives of New Jersey (which premieres June 2nd) anytime soon?

JM: I probably will be on Jersey and I think you’ll see me on something in Orange County. You won’t see me as a hairdresser but at some of the events or parties. For example Vito (Scalia) and Lauren (Manzo) had an end of the world party which was a lot of fun and I was also at Richie and Victoria (Wakile’s) birthday party and Kathy’s cannoli launch.

***We are giving away Caroline’s autographed book***

TBB: You recently were in the clubhouse with Tamra on Watch What Happens Live. What’s it like in Bravo Andy’s Clubhouse?

JM: Being in The Clubhouse is awesome. Andy can run hot and cold. Sometimes he’ll talk to the guests and hang out and that night he was in such a great mood. He was with us for 40 minutes before the show and an hour after. I got to hold Tamra’s breast implants in my hand, Andy has them in a box. Tamra gave me a shout out in the middle of the interview which I never thought she was going to do, I had expected her to plug her gym. (laughs)

TBB: I know I speak for many women when I say we confide a lot in our hairdressers. Do you hear a lot of behind the scenes secrets while you’re working on your clients?

JM: Yes, of course I do.

TBB: You specialize in extensions and we know many of the Housewives wear them. Is there anyone you know for sure (besides the obvious, ummm Lea Black) who is sporting their own locks?

JM: Lydia has all her own (hair). Lea actually does wear extensions. I know that first hand. She wears them short. Heather Dubrow wears her own hair but I am going to have her wear (extensions) on May 20th on WWHL.

TBB: With the summer coming many of us who can’t have our hairdresser follow us around, or afford extensions, have many bad hair days on the horizon. What products do you recommend to combat the heat and humidity?

JM:My fave product is by Oribe. It’s called Imperial Humidity, it’s the best spray to beat frizz.

TBB: Any products the average woman who wants to lengthen without committing to “permanent” extensions can try?

JM: My extensions are all clips ins. They can definitely get the Housewife looks without the commitment!

TBB: Thank you for talking with me today. Where can our readers go to see you if they want to try the Julius Michael treatment themselves?

JM: My salon Julius Michael Scarsdale in Scarsdale NY.

Julius’s video promoting RHONJ!

3 thoughts on “When It Comes to Housewife Hair, Julius Michael is at the Head of the Class

  1. I wish I could figure out extensions, on me they just look like clip-on hair, need to learn placement and blending! Future giveaway idea, HW hair consult and pieces, it would be, dare I say it, unbeweaveable!

Leave a Reply

