Gratitude

Does Kyle display "bratitude"? Credit: Bravotv.com

Does Kyle display “bratitude”? Credit: Bravotv.com

There’s a lot of whiny bratitude  on reality TV these days. On Monday’s episode of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills the women were whining and arguing over some pretty petty issues. Brandi Glanville stressing about a paparazzo calling her a “bully” in front of  her kids and Kyle Richards calling a tabloid claim that Mauricio cheated “the worst nightmare of our lives” made me roll my eyes. Sunday’s Atlanta Housewives featured Kenya Moore’s quipping that she can’t live  in anything smaller than five thousand square feet…she’s one person. I’m in a family of four and, well, I don’t even think I have two thousand. Don’t even get me started on the Tankards.

Are we watching these people because their level of materialistic standards are ridiculous to the point that it’s entertaining or do we aspire to be, as Nene Leakes would say, “rich bitch”? It’s an interesting conundrum in this still challenged economic climate.

There’s still such a large divide in this country between the haves and the have- nots. Being middle class is far different now than it was when I was a child. I don’t recall my parents living paycheck to paycheck. We always were able to take vacations. It wasn’t until a divorce occurred that I ever even knew money could be a worry.

These days it’s just not so easy. Middle class families struggle to make ends meet. My generation is the first that will not exceed the financial comfort of our parents…most of us won’t even tie it. Being a product of the eighties and nineties makes being an adult of the now teens a challenging experience. I think a lot of us are asking “Who Moved My Cheese?”

I sometimes wonder if watching these shows is mentally healthy. Bravo TV recently ran a contest to promote the new season of Shahs Of Sunset in which people posted pleas for luxury items they wanted. Some of the contestants spoke of “needing” such items as Chanel purses and Louis Vuitton business card holders. I am not condemning the coveting of luxury items. I have a Chanel purse myself. Do I love it? Yes. Has it enhanced my life? Would I be any less well off without it? No and definitely not.

I’ve often found that getting certain things begets wanting more. It’s really never enough which is why we keep, as a culture, shopping and shopping. What void are we all trying to fill? Amazing that some of these very television personalities we envy as having it all end up embroiled in financial hot water.

I sometimes look at what my parents had amassed by my age and look at what I have. There is a definite disparity. There’s no denying times are tougher, but when I step back and think about what I do have I must admit I’m luckier than most. I think in general if you are reading this article chances are you are too.

Birth is a lot like the lottery. This is a notion I think about often. I, you, we could have been born anywhere into any situation. How lucky to be born in a place with clean water, accessibility of food, electricity. How lucky that we are part of a culture that could even aspire to overindulgence.

I don’t want to preach but I myself will be reflecting over the Thanksgiving holiday about these things. I am often guilty of comparing myself to others, especially on Facebook and feeling that I don’t measure up or aren’t where I should be professionally of financially. I’m learning none of it matters. I’m learning to appreciate what I do have in lieu of lamenting about what I don’t. I’m also really trying to give back whenever I can, no matter how small.

It’s time to trade bratitude to gratitude. It would be nice to see some of this happen on television. Life often imitates art.

What are you grateful for? Share before November 30th 2013 and you could win a Wrapadoo !

*Your email will never be shared or sold and is only used for the purposes of contacting you if you win.

7 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Wrap Someone Up This Holiday Season! | TBB Reality

  2. This blog really hit home with me and I couldn’t agree more with your thoughts! I love your phrase “bratitude!” I also really love your blog and especially posts like this one! Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. I owe my Gratitude to my 77 yr old Mother. Or rather my 77 yrs young Mother! She continues to amaze me with her generous, kind-hearted spirit. How she lives day by day with such a positive outlook of life is beyond me. With her many struggles, heartbreaks, tragedies and losses…You would think she would have given up but it’s quite the opposite. She is the most loving, most generous, most giving person I have ever met in my entire life! She is a true inspiration! My Gratitude undoubtedly goes to my Mother! Sandra @justrrrs

Leave a Reply

