Easy No Fry Eggplant Parmesan

Hello  Readers and Happy 2014!

One of the reasons I started TBBReality was because my Facebook friends and family were always asking me my thoughts on the Reality TV shows I frequently watched. Since I had become their sounding board for their love of the genre I felt that putting it all out there in one place to find would be beneficial to them as seekers of RTV information and for myself as a writer/seeker of knowledge…or blossoming journalist.

Over the past couple of years, as I shared my RTV  adventures with you all, something else was also happening on the private world of my Facebook page. Those same friends were asking me lifestyle advice. I found over and over again I’d be typing out recipes over PM, or getting texts of what outfits to wear to a party or first date. It just seemed natural that I now add some of that lifestyle element to the blog.

I’m excited to launch TBBLifestyle as a place to get advice on some of my favorite things like fashion, interior design,fitness, food, and just general ways to do things efficiently for us busy on the go types. We hope you visit over and over and get great ideas and tips on effortless stylish living as we plan to bring you articles not only from ourselves but carefully selected experts.

One thing we all could use are easy inexpensive recipes. Dig in, in every sense of the word, to one of my most requested ones below!

Regards and hugs,

TBB

imageTBB’s EASY NO FRY EGGPLANT PARMESAN

1 large eggplant peeled and thinly sliced length wise

1 egg …if on a dairy free diet you can omit the egg. End result will be a bit dryer.

1/2 cup of milk or almond milk

1 cup Italian flavored breadcrumbs

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup favorite marinara sauce

1 cup shredded mozzarella or dairy free cheese substitute

coconut oil  (or olive oil)

basil leaves for garnish

Set oven to 400 degrees F. Cover two large baking sheets with tin foil and grease with oil. You can spread with your hands then rub the residue in and wipe with paper towel… now you’re cooking and moisturizing. Beat milk into egg. Mix breadcrumbs and flour in casserole dish.  Dredge each eggplant slice in egg mixture and coat both sides with breadcrumb mixture then lay on baking sheet. Bake for approx 10 minutes on each side.

Meanwhile wash and dry casserole dish, and clean up all other utensils.

When eggplant is baked remove from oven and reset to 350 degrees F. Lay one layer of breaded eggplant strips across bottom of casserole. Cover with half the cheese and half the sauce. Repeat for second layer. Bake again until cheese is melted. Slice up and garnish with fresh basil.

As a mother of active twins I have cultivated efficiency into an art form!

As a mother of active twins I have cultivated efficiency into an art form!

*Busy homemaker tip: Make two trays and freeze the second before baking the cheese to be defrosted and used on another day when you have to work late or just don’t feel like cooking.

*Suggested sides: Mashed potatoes, Sauteed squash and zucchini, Whole wheat penne, Whole wheat spaghetti

2 thoughts on “Easy No Fry Eggplant Parmesan

  1. Pingback: Perfect Sunday Pancakes | TBB Reality

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian Summer Sandwich | TBB Reality

Leave a Reply

