Shrimp and Peas Over Whole Wheat Angel Hair Pasta

imageThe beauty of this dish, which I adapted from a Costco lobster recipe, is you can use the basic garlic wine sauce for a myriad of meals. The crappy part for me is that my kids saw shrimp and peas and flat out refused to eat it. The dinner ended with one kid covered in pasta strings, one kid crying, one frustrated husband, and me eating alone with the dog. This is supposed to be me tackling the new year goal of cooking more often. Tonight I realized just how we’ve become a family of frozen food and take out. An hour of prep followed by the mealtime fiasco and the absolute mess it left in my kitchen was justice for why the local pizza joint knows my first name when I call. If it’s any consolation the dog and I thought this dish was delicious…then again I cooked it and he drinks toilet water. One thing I didn’t put in was salt. In hindsight it needed some, so I’ve included it below.

1 pkg whole wheat angel hair pasta

4 tbs butter substitute (I use soy free Earth Balance)

4 tbs extra virgin olive oil

4 cloves garlic minced

1/2 cup white wine

1/2 lemon

pinch of salt

1 cup peas (frozen, canned, whatever floats your boat)

1 cup cooked chopped shrimp

1/3 cup chopped parsley

1/3 cup grated Parmesan

While pasta is boiling melt the butter with the oil in a skillet on low heat. Sautéed the garlic for a minute then add wine, juice of the lemon half, and salt. Let simmer then add peas. When peas are no longer frozen add shrimp. Pour over drained pasta. Toss with parsley and garnish with grated Parmesan.

*Busy mommy tip: Add an extra cup of wine…to drink while you cook.

 

Leave a Reply

