Yummy Sides: Brussels Sprouts

imageBy Lesley Rousso

Brussels sprouts were something I never really enjoyed until I was older. While you may still think you dislike them, this delicious easy-to-make recipe may surprise you. For those of you following a Paleo diet there are one-hundred percent Paleo. Enjoy them, everyone in my house does, including my seven-year old!

1 pkg fresh brussels sprouts

5 strips uncooked bacon

Salt, pepper and garlic to taste

Cut brussels spouts in half, set aside. Take a skillet, (I use cast iron) cut the uncooked bacon into it with kitchen shears. A scissor works best to cut bacon into bits and it’s easiest to do when the bacon is right out of the refrigerator.  Cook on medium heat until mostly crisp.  Add the brussels sprouts and  salt, pepper and garlic.  You can use minced garlic or garlic powder, whichever you prefer.  You do not need a great deal of salt because you already have it from the bacon.  I focus mostly on the pepper and garlic.  Cook until golden and crisp.  This should yield enough to serve 4.

Another variation is to do the same thing but used shaved brussels sprouts.  You can chop them yourself or if you have a Trader Joe’s near you they sell them pre-cut.  I like to mix the two together.

About mommyrou

I am a Miami raised wife and mom of three. Actually six if you count my 3 dogs. I have always been a TV junkie and I'm not embarrassed to admit it!

Leave a Reply

