Leggy Blonde by Aviva Drescher: The TBB Review

imageBy Lesley Rousso

I am both an avid reader and reality tv watcher, so whenever a Real Housewife comes out with a book, I read it.  I had pre-ordered Aviva Drescher‘s Leggy Blonde on Amazon and was excited when I remembered it would be on my kindle app.  Unfortunately I was sick with the cold that keeps on giving last week so I had the time to sit down and read it.  For me, the fact that Aviva is on The Real Housewives of New York City didn’t matter once I started reading, her story stands on its own two feet.  I literally could not put it down, reading it in a few short hours.

Aviva’s book begins recounting the event when he lost her leg in a farm conveyor belt accident.  We’ve all heard the general details on the show but here we get the whole story and Aviva sets the scene really well.  We also learn about the aftermath including her hospital stays, how her parents handled it and when she got her first prosthesis.  Without giving anything away here, Aviva paints a portrait of a girl who just struggled to stay normal after the horrific loss of her leg.

The book also takes us through Aviva’s childhood growing up in New York City, her college years and her marriages and divorce.  She gives us a great sense of who she is, and why.  There are clear reasons Aviva sometimes behaves the way she does, has a strong distaste for alcohol and has a laundry list of phobias. She is who she is and she owns it, making no apologies, which, like her or not, you have to respect.   When I said I’m an avid reader, I meant it, so I have strong opinions about whether something is well written or not.  This book was very well written and I suggest you read it before the new season starts on March 11th.  If any of you reading this review know me at all, you know one thing about me and it’s that I am not an ass kisser. If I say something, I mean it and I make no bones about it, whether it’s nice or not so nice.  I will not give someone phony compliments just because.  So, when I say it’s a great book, it’s a great book!  Go buy the hardcover or download it, but read it! Bravo Aviva! Pun very much intended.

*For more about Aviva and her writing experience read our most recent interview.

About mommyrou

I am a Miami raised wife and mom of three. Actually six if you count my 3 dogs. I have always been a TV junkie and I'm not embarrassed to admit it!

3 thoughts on “Leggy Blonde by Aviva Drescher: The TBB Review

  1. Pingback: Painting the Town RHONY | TBB Reality

  2. Pingback: Reality Roundup | TBB Reality

  3. Pingback: The Andy Cohen Diaries: A Review | TBB Reality

Leave a Reply

