The People’s Couch

Credit: bravotv.com

Credit: bravotv.com

By Lesley Rousso

So, what can I say about The People’s Couch? For one, it’s hysterically funny.  The Bravo TV show based on a popular UK one first aired as a limited run series in October 2013.  I watched it then and loved it and was thrilled when the announcement came that it would be back for a twelve episode run in March.  The show, which is unscripted, basically just films people while they watch television.  Now I know what you’re thinking, “What’s so great about that?”, well, I’ll tell you.

The show stars several different groups ranging in age and gender, some families, some friends.  They view the most popular shows of the week in their own living room or bedroom while commenting about what they see.  The Couch stars some quirky characters, including Emerson, Scott and Blake, three gay BFFS, The Egber Family; mom, dad and two teenaged sons, and Julie and Brandy, writing partners and best friends.  They hang out while watching shows like The Real Housewives, Scandal, and The Voice.  They’re relatable people and their obsevations are probably what the rest of us are thinking or tweeting.  Personally I think that’s why I like it. It’s like live tweeting a show, with a camera on you.  I would totally try out for it if they filmed in Miami. In fact I may secretly film my family one night while we watch TV, just to see what I get.  It’s not for everyone I’m sure, but nothing is.  If you have even the slightest bit of a sense of humor though, I think you’ll love it.  I’m literally dying of laughter while I watch it.  The People’s Couch airs Monday nights at 11:30pm, following Watch What Happens Live on Bravo TV.

About mommyrou

I am a Miami raised wife and mom of three. Actually six if you count my 3 dogs. I have always been a TV junkie and I'm not embarrassed to admit it!

2 thoughts on “The People’s Couch

    • Yes I am aware there are other people on the show. I think they are all hysterical. I was using the three groups as an example of who is in the show. For me, they’re tge ones who stuck out most in my mind. Everyone on the show is great though.

Leave a Reply

