Salmon Loaf and Horseradish Sauce

imageBy now you may have figured out that I don’t post meat dishes…unless they start out as frozen chicken nuggets. I don’t eat beef or poultry and therefore don’t cook  it. How can I serve anything to another human without first tasting it myself? I’d be worried that it was beneath my standards, or god help me if something went awry and I food poisoned a group of folks that didn’t include me. Now that would just look evil and deliberate. So I stick with fish and vegetable based dishes. I’m always looking for interesting ways to prepare these things. Salmon loaf was something I initially feared. The title “salmon loaf” sounds about as classy as SPAM, and, quite frankly, disgusting.  The picture of salmon loaf in the Costco cookbook from which I adapted it, however, looked quite good, and since I am a fan of the salmon burger, the main ingredient, I felt it was worth a shot. It’s quickly become a family favorite, except don’t ask my Twin B. He refuses to try it. Perhaps he can’t get past the fact that it is called “salmon loaf.”

Salmon Loaf Adapted from Costco’s Cookbook

* 3 frozen salmon burgers cooked and flaked

*1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

*2 eggs

*1/4 cup milk

*1 tbs olive oil

*1 tsp lemon zest

*1/2 tsp black pepper

*several chopped fresh basil leaves

*coconut oil for greasing
Pre heat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a loaf pan or one of the short sides of a casserole dish with the coconut oil. In a bowl combine all ingredients. When well mixed mold into loaf shape in pan. Bake for 25 minutes or until slightly  brown and set. Serves four people.
Horseradish Sauce
This sauce not only compliments the salmon loaf but salmon cakes, crab cakes, and  seared/raw ahi tuna as well!
*mayonnaise
*horseradish
*black pepper
Mix 3 parts mayonnaise to 1 part horseradish. Example 3 tbs mayo to 1 tbs horseradish. Sprinkle with pepper and mix.

 

Leave a Reply

