Heather Explains It All -RHOC’s Heather Dubrow Discusses Season 9

Photo:Bravotv.com

Photo:Bravotv.com

After three seasons on The Real Housewives of Orange County, one would think Heather Dubrow would have risen to the top of the pecking order, especially with two newbie cast members. In Housewives land, however, nobody’s role is ever guaranteed. The once revered voice of reason is now finding her season in the hot seat. I caught up with Heather just days before she was departing for a much needed family vacation. She took a break from packing  to give me a little Season 9 behind the scenes.

TBB: Was there any hesitation about returning for a third season on RHOC?

HD: Definitely! This show is difficult to do. It’s really hard to be held accountable for everything that comes out of your mouth. We film so much and in the end (the viewers) see pieces of things, and the way they are put together is not really reality, and it’s frustrating.

TBB: The dynamics of the group have changed this season. What’s your take on the new girls (Shannon Beador and Lizzie Rovsek) and your role in the show now?

HD: I think they are both really good additions to the cast. As for my role on this season…every week when I get my screener I’m sort of scared to see what’s on there. We filmed twice as long as the previous season and I had a lot going on so it was a very stressful season from me. I felt very isolated from the other girls. I really wasn’t seeing them except for at major events.

TBB: We have been watching your once tight friendship with Tamra (Judge) unravel. In the final cut it looks like you sabotaged her ride on a mechanical bull causing her to fall. What went through your mind while watching that incident?

HD: The truth is it just didn’t happen all that fast. I made a joke in saying, “Turn it up”. I said it when I got on the bull, I said it again when Tamra got on. It didn’t mean “turn it up and maim or hurt my friend”. If my comment or joke is in any way responsible for (her falling) I apologize profusely. I feel terrible. I would never do that to my friend. There were cameras everywhere and we’d been drinking. I’ll be apologizing for this for a long time. I love Tamra and would never want to hurt her.

TBB: How do you feel about the other women accusing you of acting out your friendship with them?

HD: When Shannon and I had lunch I walked away thinking we were okay and it was going to be a fresh start. When I saw what she said I felt like I was being talked about behind my back. I was very disappointed in what she said to Tamra at her Christmas party. If I had known that I probably wouldn’t have gone to the party.

TBB: Did you fake that phone call at Shannon’s Christmas party?

HD: No, and so many people have tweeted pictures of me holding the phone, picking up the phone and the lights are clearly on. Anyone who watches this show would know that my husband, who would say if I kicked him under the table, “Why are you kicking me,” would say “There’s nobody there” if I handed him a phone with nobody on the other end. Furthermore, I would never fake anything having to do with my kids’ health. That’s such bad Karma.

TBB: Do you feel that the absence of Gretchen (Rossi) and Alexis (Bellino) who were both long standing cast members has affected RHOC?

HD: Each season feels like such a restart. It seems to me like Gretchen and Alexis are in better places doing what they want to do, and they are happy. Thankfully it didn’t affect the show. I think OC is a really strong franchise and the whole is greater than its parts.

TBB: You have had a few guest roles on some scripted series since becoming a Housewife. Are you looking to make a complete transition from reality back to scripted television?

HD: I’m enjoying the opportunities that are coming to me. I just finished a 12 episode series as part of Sony’s Vision Network and am actively pursuing auditions and reading for roles. I’m in a position where I can pick when I want to work, not that they always want me, but I don’t want to give up too much time with my children. Right now I’m very happy and feel very balanced doing both, I don’t think one has to be exclusive of the other.

TBB: Your husband Terry has been very supportive of you. Watching the RHOC how do you feel about his involvement in the drama?

HD: I think, especially this season, I felt very isolated from the other ladies. They were getting together a lot without me and anything that was going on with me was discussed at these parties. (Terry) was my only advocate. Terry and I are a partnership. We aren’t always perfect but we are a really good team. At the end of the day I go home with him, not one of the other Housewives.

TBB: Terry has his own show, Botched, coming to E. What has it been like for your family doing reality television double duty?

HD: It was very stressful. Terry was not around. He was filming Botched and I was filming Housewives. We were both stretched really thin, but he was so happy with what he was doing. It was such a fun extracurricular add on to his plastic surgery business, and when you are happy and successful you let a lot of things just roll. I think it was more stressful for me because I didn’t have him around that much.

TBB: I was surprised to learn that Terry’s brother was Kevin Dubrow, the late lead singer of Quiet Riot. Does Terry sing at all?

HD: No…that would be no. He has many special gifts, but that is not one of them.

TBB: If Housewives is renewed would you be interested in returning for the next season?

HD: I think so much happened this season and it was such a long season. I need a break. I’m definitely ready for a break. It will depend on what’s going on in my life and also what happens during the reunion. I have to take one day at a time.

TBB: What’s the story on the new house? Is it finished yet?

HD: We have about another year to go.

TBB: Have you got a favorite interior design tip to share with us?

HD: I love mirrors! They can make a small room look bigger and you can find many great inexpensive ones. It’s such a great tool to use in your house.

TBB: Thank you for chatting with me once again. Is there anything you’d like to add?

HD: It’s been a tough season (of RHOC) but I’m really grateful that I’ve had an opportunity to be on the show. I’m really grateful as it’s been wonderful for our whole family. It’s truly been one of those really great life experiences, so thanks Bravo!

What are YOUR thoughts on season 9? Are you team Heather or team somebody else? Join the conversation below! To read our Season 8 interview with Heather click here!

Leave a Reply

