And Then There Were Two…

Above: a second awning hangs inside Angelo's of Little Italy. Below: Team TBB meets for the first and last time.

Above: a second awning hangs inside Angelo’s of Little Italy. Below: Team TBB meets for the first and last time.

Last Saturday was a monumental evening for TBB. After nearly two years of working together we finally met Lesley Rousso (@MommyRou) in person. If that seems weird (and what isn’t in the age of social media?) what is even weirder is that there was no “Nice to meet you” or any awkwardness of a first time encounter. The conversation just picked up like we were all old friends, and in some ways we are.

It’s amazing how much you can get to know somebody over the internet. I almost understand how some people get swooped up into these love affairs with imprisoned strangers they never met. Via your Wifi and cellphone strangers can become besties…they are even meeting for hugs now via some bizarre new app. I’m not about to go hugging strangers, but it was all I could do to hug Lesley like she was a long lost sister. In some ways it felt like I really was meeting one.

Twitter has lead me to some pretty awesome people who will forever be part of my life, especially those who spent some time at TBB. Former intern Drew still checks in with me from his new home in LA and I plan to continue to track him as he chases down all of his dreams. He’s totally going to be big, I know it. If you haven’t seen the last post yet then you may not know that Brent Osborne (@HousewifeGuy) has also flown the coop. Even though he’s been gone less than a week, I still chat with him constantly. Our meeting Lesley was the high of our celebration dinner, the low was saying goodbye to an extraordinarily talented young man who is also going to tackle his dreams in huge ways. Seriously, Brent and Drew I would not be shocked if some day either of you ends up being my boss! In fact I would love it!

So as we celebrated Lesley’s birthday and gifted her with some Good Charma, we also celebrated Brent and all he has done for us, and all he is and forever will be to us. He will always be part of our family. However, there was another event unfolding. With Brent’s absence we need to make some changes. We thought about bringing in some new people, but the problem is when you’ve worked with the best, the bar is set pretty high. So what are two blonde moms who watch too much Bravo left to do?

The answer is simple, to continue delivering what you expect from us. Real life, real laughs, and real encounters with the stars of Reality Television. Of course with two really girly girls at the helm things might get a little more, to quote Wendy Williams, soft and pink. So in the coming weeks you’ll see some changes. Girls just want to have fun, and so we will be doing lots of that and hope you will come along for the ride. The last thing we ever want this site to feel like is work. Not for us and not for you, the reader.

So buckle up it’s about to get crazy in here! Speaking of crazy, it was the blonde leading the blonde last weekend when we both obliviously scheduled our meeting at Real Housewives of New Jersey’s Rino Aprea‘s Angelo’s in Little Italy during the busiest weekend of the NY Italian year. Neither one of us realized that the world famous Feast Of San Gennaro was still in full effect. As I was exiting the door my mother, who was here to babysit the blondelets, said, “Have fun at the feast.” Wha-wha-what? Silly me didn’t know the thing went on across two weekends. The hubs, Brent, and I ended up stuck in major traffic. Les and Darren left midtown on the late side. I feared our table would be gone. I called Angelo’s to tell them we’d be late.

After nudging 99 people in the street with my second hand Louis Vuitton I made it to the famous 100+ year old restaurant with the blue and white awning. The line outside was insane! But hey, our reservation was secured for us by Teresa Aprea. We walked right in and partied at the bar until our table was ready…which considering the timing and that we were a half hour late was not a long wait at all.

Angelo’s is clearly a place that is a tourist and local favorite. Right across from the bar was a table of New York’s Bravest (that’s the FDNY ). Firefighters in the Big Apple are notorious foodies. If you see them dining somewhere you know you’re in a good place to chow down. We loved the rice balls, calamari, and my gnocchi was the right consistency…lots of places get it wrong. The husband felt his steak was medium, though he wanted it medium rare, so if you go, just really stress how you like your meat. And no worries, we didn’t see Rino and his interesting underwear choices anywhere.

Loads and loads of thanks and hugs and kisses to Teresa! My dear I had no idea that I was asking you to squeeze in five of us during TFSG! You are amazeballs!

Leave a comment