Shrimp and Spinach Orzo With a Side of RHONJ

imageIf you follow me on Instagram you get your fill of foodie pictures. Every recipe I try I photograph and post to my social media. This acts as a great gage for what you, the readers, want to eat. Last week I posted a photo of my favorite orzo dish and the response was overwhelming. I started making this dish after I dined at one of my favorite Greek restaurants with a good friend, who also happens to work closely with Jacqueline Laurita.

This dish will satisfy your craving for all the food groups…well almost, you just will have to add some baklava for dessert. Opa!

Speaking of dessert, I was driving through Franklin Lakes over the weekend and passed a massive house that is under construction. The place was huge with several garages on the side and a turret in front. Could it be? When I met up with a local gal pal I mentioned the home and asked if it was the future residence of The Wakiles. My friend mentioned the street name and told me she’s pretty sure it’s the house. Ladies and gents, I really don’t believe Franklin Lakes is that large. How many turreted houses in the phase of construction that Kathy‘s is at could there be? Kathy and Rich, if it is your house, it is AMAZING! I also think it’s big enough that I could move in and you guys will never notice I’m there. Got a spare room for a mommy who needs a vacay?

One mommy got a little vacay, if only for an afternoon. Another set of Jersey eyes I know spotted Caroline Manzo out shopping with her great niece Olivia, daughter of Dazzle Candy owner Candice Laurita, over the weekend. I’m sure this was the calm before the storm as Caro and company’s new show Manzo’d With Childen starts this coming Sunday on Bravo right after RHONJ!

Tell us, what do you think of Kathy and Rich’s new house? Will you watch the Manzo’s new show? Will you make this recipe?

Shrimp and Spinach Orzo

*1 package of orzo (I like tri-colored)

*1 package of fresh baby spinach leaves

* 2 cloves garlic

*1 package grape tomatoes

* sea salt

*several fresh basil leaves

*1-2 cups  cooked shrimp, tail on or off

* 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (or goat)

Coat bottom of sauce pan with olive oil and place over medium low heat. Add chopped garlic cloves and whole grape tomatoes. Cover and let sit until tomatoes start to open (about 10-15 minutes). While tomatoes are cooking prepare orzo according to package directions. When tomatoes are soft and opening add spinach, basil, shrimp, and pinch of sea salt. Lower heat and cover until spinach is steamed and shrimp is warm (about 3 minutes). Add sauce mixture to drained orzo and sprinkle with feta. The leftovers are great heated or cold!

2 thoughts on “Shrimp and Spinach Orzo With a Side of RHONJ

Leave a Reply

