The Andy Cohen Diaries: A Review

photo credit: TheAndyCohenDiaries.com

photo credit: TheAndyCohenDiaries.com

by Lesley Rousso

Now I know what you’re all thinking. How can she write a fair and impartial review of Andy Cohen‘s book? Yes, I am admittedly Mr. Cohen’s biggest fan and love pretty much anything he does. However, I am quite capable of being fair, even if I’m not extra fond of the person I’m writing about. (See Leggy Blonde: A Review) All that being said, let’s get down to biz, shall we?

I adored Most Talkative, Andy’s memoir. I loved hearing about Andy’s early television days and his growing up. I found it to be touching and hilarious. The Andy Cohen Diaries in comparison, does not disappoint. Written like, well a diary, Andy chronicles every day for a year beginning on September 8th, 2013 and concluding to Labor Day weekend this 2014. Andy says he modeled it after The Andy Warhol Diaries, which I will now definitely have to read. Without giving too much away, some of my favorite laugh out loud parts of this book include airplane hair, the Ralph Lauren Olympics sweater  throwing up Washington DC, and without a doubt #BabyJaneFlightAttendent.

We get a birdseye view of what everyday life is for our illustrious King of the Housewives. I have to tell you, that day-to-day, Andy has a pretty cool existence. We learn about his workout routine, followed closely by his eating routine. One to be jealous of. I’m speaking of the food by the way. We learn things about Watch What Happens Live and the sometimes craziness that ensues behind the scenes. Like the weird bathroom which I already told you about (See: Here’s What Happens). We re-meet all of his friends, Bruce, John, Hickey, Liza, Grac. Yes, I am on a first name basis with them, well, every one except Hickey. We hear about his mother’s nightly critique of the show and we are right there as Andy participates in an All Star softball game. We get all sorts of juicy tidbits about some of our favorite and not so favorite celebs. (See: Kim Kardashian‘s ass, in Reality Roundup).

SHOP NOW FOR GREAT SAVINGS AND ENTER TO WIN A FREE GIFT FOR THE TECHIE OR TEEN ON YOUR LIST!

We meet Wacha Cohen for the first time and ride along with Andy on his adventure to adopt him. One part that touched me was when a very conservative woman told Andy that he actually changed the way she thought about “things”. I’m assuming that “things” means homosexuality and gay marriage. That’s incredible as far as I’m concerned. Love is love everyone. I’d be a whole lot happier if Andy found a nice Jewish guy to take home to Evelyn and Lou. Just sayin’.

Andy is the type of person we all feel like we could just hang out and shoot the shit with. There were so many times I found myself saying, “Oh, me too!” while reading this book. So, as much I love to romanticize about being his friend, at the end of the day, I know I’m just a fan. Now this doesn’t mean I won’t try to continue to pursue Andy’s attention while I continue my daily tweetfest. (Insert winking smiley emoticon)

It was truly a delicious read. I had a hard time putting it down, but for my tweeps, you know my kids did eat that night. I was bummed when I finished. (Insert sad emoticon here) So my reccomendation is that you READ THIS BOOK, not that kind of read, get your minds out of the Bravo gutter please! I also suggest listening to the audio version if you can, because it’s Andy doing the reading which makes it all the more hilarious. Next up, I go on a The Andy Cohen Diaries book signing crawl Sunday the 23rd of November. Stay tuned…

 

About mommyrou

I am a Miami raised wife and mom of three. Actually six if you count my 3 dogs. I have always been a TV junkie and I'm not embarrassed to admit it!

2 thoughts on “The Andy Cohen Diaries: A Review

  1. Pingback: My Night in AC-Andy Cohen Talks Live with Anderson Cooper | TBB Reality

Leave a Reply

