Christmas Magic…for Parents

Modern technology takes holiday excitement to a whole new level with Santa Spy Cam App.

Modern technology takes holiday excitement to a whole new level with Santa Spy Cam App.

By Tara Cushing (The Bravo Blonde)

As a child you probably felt it. Whether you celebrated Christmas or not, most of us who grew up in America experienced some form of that feeling of magic during the holiday season. From decorating a tree to lighting a menorah, there was always a feeling of mystery, wonder, and hope.

As adults it’s hard to capture that feeling. It’s more of “I wonder how much debt I’ll accumulate pretending to be the fat guy this season,” than “I wonder what Santa Claus is going to bring.” I thought I’d lost that Christmas loving feeling, and then I had children. Seeing Christmas through their eyes brings it all back. They are excited, they are enchanted, and most importantly they have an extra incentive to behave! It truly is the most wonderful time of the year.

Last year we bought an Elf on the Shelf. We named him Elfie (because what else can you expect from 2 year olds?) and proceeded to do the nightly ritual of hiding him in a new place. It was a fun game for the boys and an extra incentive to keep them in line. Not that my parenting skills are totally weak, but hey, anybody who has kids can attest that we will take the extra boost whenever we can. I recall last year listening to some woman on tv talk about how the Elf on the Shelf was a terrible idea that took away a parent’s power of discipline. I felt guilty for a moment, and then decided that this woman probably didn’t have any experience with children.

This year has been particularly challenging in our household. The terrible twos have nothing on the threes. In fact two was like paradise, but the second they developed that three year old attitude it was paradise lost. Remember I’m dealing with twice the ‘tude. Three year old twin boys is no easy street. Just ask the folks who were next to us at The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, where my kid screamed , “I can’t see, SOMEBODY MOVE!” So when the nice folks at Santa Spy Cam App asked me to review their product I was all in, especially since I had seen the coming attractions for it last year and thought it looked pretty cool.

Available in the App Store for Apple users, Santa Spy Cam App, allows you to super impose a scene of spying elves over any area in your home. All you do is choose your scene, point your phone or tablet in the area you want the critters to invade, and hit record. From there you can save the video to your camera roll and even share it on your social media. With scenes like the note and present drop, “elves” can leave tangible gifts for the kids (with your assistance of course). Pssst, I hear that an even bigger better Santa Spy Cam App and an Android version is about to roll out in time for the holidays, giving you plenty more time and ways to delight, and encourage, your children.

I started using Santa Spy Cam App about two days before Elfie’s arrival. I told the children that he was sending friends to scout out what’s been happening here while he awaits Santa’s orders. Then when our Elf arrived he typed up a letter on my iPad letting them know he was already onto some of what’s been going on. In our house we tell our kids that if they are naughty Santa gives them a rock…they know how disappointing rocks are from watching The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown. Our elf reiterated that Santa has already started polishing one for each of them.

Before you accuse me of being Mommy Dearest the kids do get a kick out of this. Rocks aside, they love listening to Elfie’s letters and watching the videos I now shoot through Santa Spy Cam App. I even use our “elves” to encourage good deeds, like donating some of the toys we no longer play with, or helping with chores. Plus, I can hardly wait until Christmas morning when I can show them Santa in our very own house via one of Santa Spy Cam App‘s many Santa Claus scenes, which would make a believer out of even the most cynical child. Someday I know an older kid on a school bus or playground may try to shake my children’s beliefs. I’ll turn to Santa Spy Cam App to help when that day comes.

For now I’m just happy to have all these cool tools that not only reinforce, err sometimes even create, good behavior, but extend the holiday magic for weeks before the holidays even arrive. They are like my little mother’s helper, during what can be a busy stressful time. For even after a three year old’s roughest day, he looked at me with worry when the Elf had vanished before bedtime.

“Where’d he go?” he asked.

“Oh, probably to the North Pole to tell Santa about our day.”

“I think I’ll go to bed now.”

Now that, my friends is a Christmas miracle!

*Follow Santa Spy Cam App on Twitter @santaspycam

*For more about Santa Spy Cam App and how to make it part of your holiday traditions visit:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Santa-Spy-Cam/1402346053325740

 

*This has been a promotional post for Santa Spy Cam App, however, being that I only promote items I believe in, all opinions and experiences regarding Santa Spy Cam App are my own. This is not to be interpreted that I believe in Santa, his elves, his reindeer or anything else of that sort.

Be your own version of Santa this season with special TBB deals from these popular vendors:

http://tbbreality.com/2014/11/04/tbb-holiday-gift-guide-and-giveaway-2014/

Leave a Reply

